Accessibility quick skip links

Rural Fire

Current location in the site

Rural Fire

The Selwyn District Council is a Rural Fire Authority under the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977. As such, the Council has a statutory obligation to provide for the prevention, detection, suppression and extinction of rural fires in the areas of the District for which the Council is responsible.

Any notices to the public on rural fire situations are posted on the homepage.

Selwyn District

Within Selwyn District there are a number of fire authorities, each responsible for their own areas. Rules and restrictions regarding burning varies depending on which fire-authority has jurisdiction (NZ Fire Service, Department of Conservation, NZ Defence force and Selwyn District Council).

Restrictions on where you can burn and what you can burn are also set out under a number of Environment Canterbury Plans.

Rural Fire Response Agencies

Footer navigation list

© Selwyn District Council |