Faith Based/Religion

Anglican Parish Church

Ellesmere is a multi-centred parish, bounded by the Selwyn and Rakaia rivers and the shore of Te Waihora, Lake Ellesmere. Prior to 1978 there were two parochial districts, each with its own Vicar. In 1978 the two districts were joined and Leeston was chosen to be the centre of the Parish. The Southbridge vicarage, along with Glebe land, was sold.

There are six churches in the Parish.

St James’, Southbridge 1865, Cnr Hastings and High St Southbridge
St John’s, Leeston 1872, High St Leeston
St Luke’s, Brookside 1880, Brookside And Burnham Rd
St Mark’s, Sedgemere 1882, Leeston Taumutu Rd
St Mary’s, Irwell 1895, cnr Leeston Rd and Selwyn Lake Rd, Irwell
Trinity, Dunsandel (St Thomas’ 1884-2004), 25 Hororata Dunsandel Rd, Dunsandel
Services are held in all the above churches. Our worship, based on the New Zealand Prayer Book (He Karakia Mihinare o Aotearoa), is vibrant, inclusive and welcoming to all ages. We have a variety of parish groups, an active pastoral care network and a strong tradition of lay ministry. The church is regarded as an integral part of the Ellesmere community.