In this section

logo

The Selwyn district is one of the fastest growing in New Zealand and we want all residents to feel part of their community so they can make themselves at home. A supportive community helps migrants and newcomers to feel welcome.

Getting to know the people who live nearby helps create a sense of belonging in your local area. Strengthening connections and trust in our communities contributes to a happier and safer neighbourhood for everyone.

Here in Selwyn we encourage all residents to get to know their neighbours!

This summer Selwyn District Council will be visiting 19 different locations around Selwyn and four of those locations are up for grabs.

Meet your Street is a fun, informal event with a free sausage sizzle. It's a chance to meet new people in your neighbourhood while enjoying some music and games for the kids. From early November 2018 to the end of March 2019, the Meet your Street team will be visiting the following locations from 5.30-7pm:

DateLocation
Tuesday 6 November 2018Austen Place, Rolleston
Tuesday 13 November 2018Walter Place, Kirwee
Tuesday 20 November 2018Perthshire Crescent Reserve, Lincoln
Tuesday 27 November 2018Westview Crescent, West Melton
Tuesday 4 December 2018Matisse Close, Rolleston
Tuesday 11 December 2018Corner of Tramway and Leeston Dunsandel Road, Dunsandel
Tuesday 18 December 2018Mahy Place, Rolleston
Tuesday 8 January 2019Woodville Street, Leeston
Tuesday 15 January 2019Juliet Place and Caesar Close, Little Rolleston Hamlet, Rolleston
Tuesday 22 January 2019William Street, Prebbleton
Tuesday 29 January 2019Everett Street, Coalgate Reserve, Coalgate (TOWNSHIP EDITION)
Tuesday 5 February 2019Walkway between Foxford Close and Kilkenny Close, Lincoln
Tuesday 12 February 2019Goulds Green, Rolleston
Tuesday 19 February 2019William Hyde Place, Darfield
Tuesday 26 February 2019Corner of Sarsfield and O'Connells Street, Southbridge
Tuesday 5 March 2019Central Ward competition winner
Tuesday 12 March 2019Malvern Ward competition winner
Tuesday 19 March 2019Springs Ward competition winner
Tuesday 26 March 2016Ellesmere Ward competition winner

WIN a Meet your Street!

This year we want you to tell us where you think the final four Meet your Street locations should be held for 2019. We have set aside the four dates in March to be decided by a lucky draw, one in each Selwyn ward.

Applications are now closed, the lucky winning streets will be announced early December.

Organise your own local street gathering - funds available.

Here in Selwyn we also encourage neighbourhoods to organise their own local street gathering.
If you would like to do this we are offering a subsidy of up to $75 per street gathering.

Who can apply?

Anyone who lives in a neighbourhood in Selwyn. Your street gathering can be a small group of neighbours or a whole street. Check out some ideas.

Conditions:

  • The maximum amount of funding is up to $75 upon receiving receipts and a completed claim form
  • We can not reimburse for alcohol
  • The subsidy of $75 per gathering can not be in conjunction with any other Council funding
  • Only one application can be submitted per campaign
  • An application form must be submitted prior to the gathering
  • Your gathering must be held between 1 November 2018 and 31 March 2019
  • Claims for reimbursement to be returned no later than 30 April 2019 with a completed claim form and attached or scanned receipts.

If you require more information on either the Council's Meet Your Street events, or organising your own gathering please contact us at meetyourstreet@selwyn.govt.nz