Information about youth council membership and activities.

Applications for 2022 have now closed.

Check back in October when we reopen for applications.

Do you live in areas such as Darfield, Hororata, Sheffield, Leeston, Dunsandel or Southbridge? We are looking for more applications from the Malvern and Ellesmere Wards for the Selwyn Youth Council. Applications from these areas will close on Monday 20 December. If you meet the following criteria, we want to hear from you:

  1. Between 12 and 24 years old as at 1 February 2022
  2. Live within the boundaries of the Selwyn district
  3. Available to attend meetings and events across Selwyn
  4. Have the ability to work with other people and as part of a team

The youth council membership will provide a broad representation of the Selwyn district youth population including an appropriate balance relating to gender, geography, age, ethnicity and skills.

The youth council membership will represent the four Selwyn district wards as follows:

  • Selwyn Central Ward - four youth council members
  • Springs Ward -  three youth council members
  • Malvern Ward - two youth council members
  • Ellesmere Ward - two youth council members
  • Te Taumutu Rūnanga - one youth council representative

For more information please refer to the Selwyn Youth Council's Terms of Reference.