Accessibility quick skip links


Current location in the site

The Selwyn District is growing rapidly and the Council's Planning team is here to help promote sustainable management of the environment and to help ensure Selwyn District remains a pleasant place for people to live, work and play.


The District Plan

District Plan Updates

The District Plan is the rules that have been implemented after the consultation process with the community under the Resource Management Act (RMA)
RC-ConsentResource Consents
Consents on the Land

District Councils look after land-use and subdivision consents.

Consents above (air) or below the land

The Regional Council (ECan) look after Coastal, Water and Discharge permits. Contact Canterbury Regional Council.

Plan-Change-7-Coverpage-1Plan ChangesThese are changes requested by Private Parties or Council to the District Plan. They must go through an RMA consultation process.

Geotechnic Information

Geotechnic Report, Map and updates



If you are new to the RMA, this is a good place to start.

PSP-Title-Page-and-Contents-smlPolicy and Strategy Guidelines for future development of the District
Planning-FormPlanning Forms

PDF and electronic forms.

We recommend a phone call to the Duty Planner Ph 347-2868 if you would like to discuss your plans or you are lodging a resource consent for the first time.

Hot Links

Information on the Land Use Recovery Plan (LURP) Actions that have been requested by the Minister

Selwyn 2031 is our District Wide Strategy

Information on the Christchurch Southern Motorway -  is available on the New Zealand Transport Agency  Website.

The Department of Building and Housing Report on Geotechnical Requirements for subdivisions and building consents is available.

The Ministry for the Environment has a range of booklets to help you through the Resource Consent Process. We recommend a visit to their website

If you would like to discuss any of the information supplied on these pages please phone our duty planner on (03) 347 2868 or email a planner at

Footer navigation list

© Selwyn District Council |