In this section

This page provides information about the local election process in Selwyn, and our ward boundaries.

local elections

Local council elections are coming up in October 2022. We’ll be keeping this page updated with information about how to enrol, standing as a candidate, and voting.

Thinking of standing for election in 2022?

Nominations for candidates in the local elections open on 15 July and close on 12 August. Nomination forms will be available on this page and at Council service centres.

Information workshops for prospective candidates

Anyone considering standing in the elections is welcome to attend candidate workshops led by Council's Chief Executive David Ward. Prospective candidates can learn more about the nomination and election processes, and the roles of councils and elected members. It’s also a chance to have any questions answered.

The workshops will be held from 7-8.30pm at the following dates and locations:

  • Tuesday 28 June – West Melton Community and Recreation Centre
  • Wednesday 29 June – Darfield Recreation Centre
  • Thursday 30 June – Council offices, Rolleston
  • Tuesday 5 July – Leeston Library.

Candidate Handbook

A Candidate Handbook [PDF, 3127 KB] – with information about everything to do with nominations, campaigning and standing for Council, Community Board or Mayor – is now available for anyone considering standing. Hard copies will be available from Council offices and service centres in early July.

Enrolling to vote

If you are enrolled as a parliamentary elector you will automatically be placed on the Council’s electoral roll as a residential elector. If you need to enroll or update existing name or address details on the parliamentary electoral roll, you can do so at any Post Shop, online at or by phoning 0800 36 76 56.

For 2022 local elections enrolment is open until 5pm on Friday 12 August. Enroll online now.

If you pay rates on a property within the Council area but live outside that area you may be eligible to enroll as a ratepayer elector. You can download a copy of the ratepayer enrolment form [PDF, 180 KB].

Key dates for local elections 2022

The next triennial local body elections will be held between 16 September and midday 8 October 2022.

April 2022

Final arrangements determined (wards, ward boundaries and names, number of elected members)

From 13 July

Elections will be advertised and nominations called

15 July Nominations open
12 August Nominations close at midday
16-21 September Voter packs mailed to electors. Voting opens
8 October Election day. Voting closes at midday. Progress result asap thereafter
9 October Preliminary results published
By 13 October Official result released
From 13 October Official result advertised.

Wards and councillors

For the 2022 elections, 10 councillors will be elected to the Selwyn District Council, from four wards.

The mayor will be elected at large (across the entire district).

The four wards are:

There is also an election for a Community Board in the Malvern Ward. A total of five Community Board members will be elected, from three subdivisions:

  • Hawkins Subdivision (2 members to be elected)
  • Tawera Subdivision (1)
  • West Melton Subdivision (2)

View map of the Hawkins, Tawera and West Melton subdivisions [PDF, 281 KB].

You can also visit the searchable interactive online map to check detailed ward boundaries. On this map you can zoom in to any location, or enter an address, to check which ward or subdivision it is located in.

Representation Review

Local councils are required under the Local Electoral Act 2001 to undertake a Representation Review every six years.

Selwyn District Council carried out a Representation Review in 2021/22. This resulted in changes to the number of elected members and ward boundaries. Find more information on the Representation Review.

Previous election results

2019 - 2016 - 2013 - 2010

Further information

Email or phone the council.