Winners for 2016

Awards logo

The Sensational Selwyn Awards are presented every two years to individuals and organisations who live or work in Selwyn and honour outstanding work or inspirational achievements.

The awards, run by the Selwyn District Council (SDC), are an opportunity to celebrate success in: Agri-Business, Arts and Culture, Small Business, Large Business, Community Services, Environmental, Sport, Tourism, and to recognise Young Achievers.

The Sensational Selwyn Awards were celebrated at a gala dinner at The Lincoln Event Centre on Saturday 30 July 2016, where 320 Selwyn residents, community groups and businesses honoured the nominees, finalists and winners . The gala dinner combined the excitement of the presentation of the awards with a fantastic menu (created utilising ingredients sourced from local producers), beverages (featuring Selwyn wine and beer) and amazing entertainment – making it a highlight of the Selwyn Social calendar.

Selwyn Awards - Gala Dinner from COBi Digital on Vimeo.

2016 Sensational Selwyn Awards Finalists and Winners

Congratulations to all the nominees, finalists and winners!

2016 Award Finalists:

Agri-Business  Arts & Culture  Community Services

Gladfield Malt Ltd

Rural Tenancy Inspections Ltd


Amelia Dunbar

Elizabeth (Beth) Keoghan

Nut Point Centre


Gary Elliot

Neville Sinclair Benny

Sue Petersen

Environmental  Small Business  Large Business

Prebbleton Nature Park - Michele Frey, Jim Hutton, Rona Ryan and David Jarvis

Selwyn Fruit Trees in Schools - Alan & Aileen Peacock, Aaron & Vicky Bartlett

West Rolleston Primary School, Te Kura o Te uru Kowhai Establishment Board of Trustees (EBoT)


COBi Digital Productions Ltd

Benjamin O’Connell and Timothy Marshall - Joint CEO’s of Chariot Brothers and/or Tribal

Leeston Physiotherapy Ltd

Selwyn Travel


Sicon Ltd

The Laboratory

Sports Tourism  Young Achiever

Eliza Grigg

Francie Turner

Hannah Bates


Hororata Community Trust

Jet Stream Tours Ltd T/A Alpine Jet

The Tea House


Elin Harris

Dominic Brettkelly

Hannah Bates

2016 Award Winners:

Agri-Business: Gladfield Malt Ltd

Arts & Culture: Amelia Dunbar

Community Services: Neville Sinclair Benny

Environmental: West Rolleston Primary School, Te Kura o Te uru Kowhai Establishment Board of Trustees (EBoT)

Large Business: The Laboratory

Small Business: COBi Digital Productions Ltd

Sports: Francie Turner

Tourism: The Tea House

Young Achiever: Elin Harris

Proudly sponsored by:

Gold Sponsors:

Logo Izone  Logo I Port  Logo Sicon 
Logo HEB  Logo Buddle Findlay  Logo Rolleston New World 
Logo - Challenge  Logo MWH 

Silver Sponsors:

Logo Opus

Bronze Sponsors:

Logo ANZLogo - Meadow Mushrooms

Service Sponsors:

Cobi Digital Productions

Spectrum Lighting and Sound
Moveable Feasts